How to find the ruler of the astrological chart and how you shine

The next time you look at the stars for inspiration, you may want to keep the ruler of the chart in mind because in astrology, it is a beacon that illuminates where you shine the brightest… and has a big influence on your daily horoscopes. “Each astrological sign has a ruling planet, or a planet that is more closely associated with that sign,” says the astrologer and intuitive healer Rachel Lang. “The ruler of your chart is the planet that governs your ascendant or rising sign.” (You can use this free birth chart generator to discover this placement if you still don’t know what it is.)

“Your ascending sign represents your body and your interaction with the outside world,” says Lang. “It is the first impression you give to others and how others are likely to see you. Your chart ruler tells that first impression. It relates to certain attributes, personality traits and behaviors.”

Below, we explain how to find your chart ruler and how to know where it is most prominently displayed in your life.

How to find the chat ruler 

The first thing you want to find out is which planet rules your rising sign. Now, for what it’s worth, originally the sign governments did not include Uranus, Neptune and Pluto because ancient astrologers did not know they existed. But Lang and many astrologers today use the programming below, which includes modern planets.

  • Aries: Mars
  • Taurus: Venus
  • Gemini: Mercury
  • Cancer: Moon
  • Leo: Sol
  • Virgo: Mercury
  • Libra: Venus
  • Scorpio: Pluto (traditional planet: Mars)
  • Sagittarius: Jupiter
  • Capricorn: Saturn
  • Aquarius: Uranus (traditional planet: Saturn)
  • Pisces: Neptune (traditional planet: Jupiter)

But this is only the beginning. To find out where precisely your chart ruler shines, we need to discover two new things. “When examining your ruling planet, you should look at the condition of that planet, its astrological house and sign, and what aspects it has in relation to other points on your chart,” says Lang. “It will give you clues about how others perceive you and how you view the world.”

I’ll use mine as an example. I am a rising Virgo. This means that Mercury, which governs technology, travel and communication, is my ruling planet. My Mercury is in Aries in the 7th house of partnerships. It means a lot of things, but one way of looking at it is: relationships will always be extremely important to me, and the way I manage to connect with people, especially romantically, is with my quick thinking. This will be a recurring theme in my life and this is how I will make many people fall in love with me.

But this is a self-indulgent approach. Getting a reading from an astrologer, or at least a reading by a software program, can help learn more about how your chart’s ruler influences your life. But an easy way to see its meaning is to observe remarkable movements of your planet through your chart. “Every time there is a transit or progression towards the ruler of the chart, you tend to feel it strongly, as it is sensitive to the general influence of that planet, physically, mentally and emotionally,” says Lang. So, with Virgo rising, you’ll have an extra hard time during retrograde Mercury.

It may be difficul to understand, so let’s start with something simpler. Below, we uncover what each chart ruler means… you just need to find out where it is placed in your chart.

What the ruler of the chart tells about you

1. Mars: Aries Rising

Mars is the planet of our need to individualize and open a path for ourselves. Assertive, courageous, energetic, you can have a fiery disposition.

The influence of Mars can make you bold in pursuit of your goals,” says Lang. “Others can see it as a driver for change. You are not afraid to act on behalf of what you like and love.”

2. Venus: Taurus and Libra Rising

Venus is a harmonious planet associated with love (obviously) and self-esteem, as well as with finances. This means that those who are governed by it are always seeking beauty and justice, and based on the need for stability.

“You have a unique sense of style and a desire for balance in your life, even if you don’t always try it,” says Lang.

3. Mercury:Virgo and Gemini Rising

“Your mind is always on the move, and your body can be, too,” says Lang. “You have a lot of energy to exercise, and exercise is important. You may even be restless. This gives you mental quickness and even acute intelligence. You crave order and structure, even though you often feel disorganized and scattered.”

4. Moon: Cancer Rising

Think about how the moon regulates the ebb and flow of the tides, while being both reflective and receptive. It is a sign of high emotions, therefore, Cancer rising has a sensitive countenance: you can appear kind and considerate to others.

“Others consider you to be a nurturer, but it is important that you take care of yourself and others,” says Lang. “You are sensitive to the mood of others and can be empathetic. The Moon gives you an intuitive and creative personality.”

5. Sun: Leo Rising

You shine as brightly as the Sun which permeates every facet of your life (but especially the house where the star resides).

“You seem to be charismatic to others, even if you sometimes step out of the spotlight,” says Lang. “You can find yourself in the spotlight or be asked to take a leadership role.”

6. Jupiter: Sagittarius Rising

Jupiter is the planet of luck and abundance, so consider yourself lucky and probably fabulous if that is your ruler on the chart.

“Jupiter is the largest and brightest planet in our solar system, and others can feel its optimism and brightness as well,” says Lang. “This governing planet indicates a mixture of generosity and openness. Jupiter is the great benefactor, and others perceive its charisma and tend to feel good in its presence.”

7. Saturn: Capricorn Rising

Saturn is the planet of our perceived limitations (damn it!), but it can help to create a life of law and order.

“This ruling planet gives you a strong sense of structure in your life,” says Lang. “Its bone structure can be distinct, in fact, as Saturn rules bones, teeth and skin. You are not afraid of self-discipline.”

8. Uranus: Ascending Aquarius

“This is the planet of independent thinking and being exclusively you,” says Lang. “Your influence suggests that you can have a freer spirit and a slight rebellious streak. You may not always want to stand out or be different, but others can see you that way. You can be an innovative leader, inventor or innovator.”

9. Neptune: Ascending Pisces

Neptune is the planet of mysticism and dreams giving a highly spiritual and creative nature. Neptune also lacks limits; that means you need to protect yourself, because you probably also have a kind of empathy.

“You can be more receptive to others’ moods and emotions,” says Lang. “Neptune rules Pisces, the water sign, and you can feel that you wear your heart on your sleeve.”

10. Pluto: Scorpio Ascendant

Since Scorpio has a dark and intense nature, its ruler, Pluto, tends to give someone the impression of being powerful and profound. That way, others agree when it comes to treating you with respect and honoring your limits.

“Pluto is the planet of rebirth and regeneration,” says Lang. “Your influence suggests that you feel the need to understand the hidden motivations and the truth so that you can be a problem solver for yourself and others. You seem to be deep and thoughtful.”

If you click links in this post to buy something, we may earn a commission. Thanks.

Must Read

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here